research assistant needed

Well, not exactly a person. But rather software!

I’ll soon be starting my masters thesis. Actually, I should be starting next semester but I still don’t know where to start. Even this post is suffering from my disorganized thoughts and anxiety.

I have MS OneNote already on my PC but it seem to be looking for something more simple. As I mentioned in a previous post, it sometimes gets too distracting. EverNote is also helpful with categories and tags on the left pane but I still love the free-form writing of OneNote. I started Google-ing and found Zotero and EndNote. But they didn’t seem to catch my fancy.

So, I’m making an appeal to people out there who could share their experiences doing research and their theses and dissertations if PC-based note-taking and organizing is the way to go. Help please?

2 thoughts on “research assistant needed

  1. Hi!

    I’m back … and it seems that this time *I* can offer *you* an alternative to OneNote. šŸ™‚ Am glad I can return the favour (or at least try to) …

    Enter TiddlyWiki (http://www.tiddlywiki.com/). It’s a wiki-style note-taking system which has all the perks of a wiki (tags, hyper-links, version histories, PC & Mac-compatibility) without the hassle: just double-click to edit your notes.

    As per request, it’s more “sober” than OneNote.
    It’s also portable (so lightweight you can pop it onto any USB). And it’s free-form … sort of. (You’ll see what I mean when you visit their website.)

    Truth be told, I’ve only been fiddling with it for about a week, but so far it’s been a good ride.

    Another option might be Wikidot (http://www.wikidot.com) which is not bad, but I find TiddlyWiki simpler to use.

    Hope that helps! And please do let me know what you end up settling with šŸ™‚

    ciao!

  2. hey Fran! Thanks for visiting again! šŸ™‚

    My officemate told me about TiddlyWiki too. And we’re planning to use it for organizing our PDF files and journals in the office. But I haven’t tried it yet. I visited their website and I must admit, I’m quite intrigued and find the portability really convenient!

    Will try it soon enough, I’m sure.. Thanks so much again!

Leave a Reply

