iPhone: cool or uncool?

I’ve always liked to watch Top Gear from the BBC. I’m a big fan of supercars and, well, cars in general. Anyway, they have a segment on the show for “the Cool Wall” where they post the cars and categorize them as Seiously Uncool, Uncool, Cool, and Sub-zero. I just thought I’d toy with it (I hope I don’t have any copyright infringement cases knocking soon) and apply it to the gadgets I’ve seen, I’ve had, and those that I don’t have but want.

And just like in the program, It’s not about how ‘good’ they are but simply how cool they are. Of course, as the “Jeremy Clarkson” of this blog, your opinion might differ from mine but this is my Cool Wall so it doesn’t count. LOL…

Today, I pick up the iPhone. It’s looks sleek, it’s got a good feel to it. Weighs just right, fits the hand nicely, nice curves, brilliant screen. But it’s Uncool.

Apple has been giving us all these ‘cool’ devices. THe MacBook, the iPod and then the iPhone. Are you willing to be one of the zombies that cry out “iPhone” in their sleep? Yeah, i know the iPhone works well. It’s a nifty gadget that makes you productive and techie and “cool” according to Apple. But it really Uncool once you’re out in the streets.

Out there, you meet someone with an iPhone and you say, “hey! nice iPhone! i got one too!” and then you meet another. And then another. And then another one. And then another one…

There’s such a thing as “too popular” you know.

One thought on “iPhone: cool or uncool?

  1. Pingback: The 3M MPro 110 MicroProjector « the practical PC

Leave a Reply

