Ubuntu 12.04 LTS log-in problem

I’ve upgraded my office PC to 12.04 LTS yesterday and all was well.

Being one of the more ‘over-eager’ adopters of Ubuntu, I went ahead with a “forced” update to 12.04 LTS (LTS updates usually come in only during the ‘point release’ of a new Ubuntu version) and look what it has gotten me: I can’t log-in! 

The machine boots fine but when it gets to the log-in splash screen, I select the correct user and enter the correct password but only flashes a black screen with something written momentarily and then goes back to the log-in screen. It does that so fast I couldn’t see the error it’s putting out or indicating. Ugh!

So far, it looks like I’m not the only one with the problem. Could you help us, please?

Many thanks,

tpPC

Leave a Reply

